Farmer Market Fun

Farmer Market Finds

Farmer Market Finds


We have recently relocated from Middle Tennessee to the Eastern Shore of VA. For those of you who don’t know where that is, it is a peninsula connected at its northern point to Maryland and its southern point to VA by way of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge. The entire west side of the shores is bordered by the Chesapeake Bay, while the east side is bordered by Atlantic Ocean. With few places to shop besides Walmart, Food Lion and Roses I was quickly drawn to an ad for a local Farmers Market in a beautiful bayside town called Onancock, VA. Running times are from 8am to 12pm and I decided to arrive early for best pick. Despite the small number of booths I was excited to find an array of homegrown vegetable stands, organic eggs and chicken, fresh clams, baked goods and a few artisans with jewelry and some paintings. As I quickly filled my bag with my finds, my family and I popped in the Corner Bakery for some delicious fresh donuts and coffee. I have been on the Eastern Shore for three weeks now and have visited the market every Saturday morning so far. I was also invited to a local CSA farm and have signed up for their weekly delivery of fresh veggies and flowers. While some may find joy in things that cost much time and money, I would rather take my $20 to the Onancock farmers market for some delicious food and friendly chit-chat.

