The wealth of fresh cut flowers in your home

David Austen roses and Solomon's Seall

There are few things that can be compared to the wealth one can find from filling your home with fresh cut flowers. Whether from your local market or the convenience of your own garden, a vase of flowers fills a room with color, fragrance and even joy. My husband has spent the last 15 years as manager of a perennial nursery and has given me the joy of countless bouquets of gorgeous blooms. We also planted a large flower garden around our home filled with flowers like peonies, echinacea, David Austin roses, day lilies, beebalm, a variety of phlox, sunflowers, tulips, daisies, and cosmos among others. We would try different flowers every year and experiment with mixed containers, raised beds, and which flowers were best for cutting or naturalizing. Before I met my husband I had little acquaintance with gardening and had rarely if ever experienced the joy of wandering around one’s garden with mason jar and clippers in hand to create a bouquet to grace my dining table for an evening party or just for my personal pleasure.

I also discovered the joy of sharing my blooms with others. What better gift to bring to a friend than a custom bouquet from one’s own garden? Now that we have moved to VA and are renting while we search for a new home I am feeling anxious fill a new yard and home with blooms for me and others to enjoy.

Festiva Maxima peony

Festiva Maxima peony

Yellow tree peonies

Yellow tree peonies

Pink tree peony

Pink tree peony

